Which ISO Standards can be Certified?

Which ISO Standards can be Certified?

Which ISO Standards can be Certified

With all the great things you hear about ISO standards, you may start to wonder which of their standards can get certified. However, before there can be room for any confusion, it must be clarified that the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) does not conduct any type of certification.

The organization only conducts the development of standards such as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 – for instance. But, they are not the ones who certify their standards – neither are they involved in the issuing of any type of certifications.

The certification of such standards is performed by other external certification bodies. This thereby means that a company nor an organization may receive certification from ISO.

But what the CASCO, or the Committee on Conformity Assessment, of ISO, has come up with a variety of standards interconnected with the process of certification. These standards are what most external certification bodies utilize and follow.

With that being said, the only ISO standard that can be certified is the ISO 9001.

What is ISO 9001?

ISO 9001 belongs to the family of ISO 9000 standards. However, among this family, ISO 9001 is the one which can be certified or even required to. But what exactly is it?

This ISO standard is the criteria upon which a number of quality management principles have been based.

Among these are an intensified customer priority, the motivation, and indication of excellent management, the process approach, as well as the consistency for improvement.

ISO 9001 may also be used by any organization, may it be large or small, without any regard to the field of activity it belongs to. As a matter of fact, there exist over one million companies and organizations in 170 different countries that have undergone certification for ISO 9001.

Most clients seek the certification of ISO 9001 as it demonstrates that a company or establishment always innovates the quality of their products or services. The Quality Management System (QMS) it adheres to is the accumulative result of all the processes, assets, resources, and values whose main objective is to seek and provide customer satisfaction as well as organizational efficiency.

Moreover, the ISO 9001 was first introduced in 1981 followed by ISO 9001:2008 then later replaced with the latest version of ISO 9001:2015.

Why ISO 9001:2015

The latest version of ISO 9001 is the go-to option or first choice to be availed as the International Organization for Standardization frequently reviews and regulates each of the standards.

This is conducted to guarantee that the standards are always up to date and relevant in accordance with what the organizations across the world needs.

ISO 9001:2008 may not have been a long time ago, but the technological developments, products, and services have called for a newer version of the ISO 9001. This is because the satisfaction rate of customers grows each day as well as the size and perplexity of the global demand. Any of the ISO standards, including the 9001, must always fulfill the expectations of the consumers.